Its not a goodbye. Leaving Oracle but not Solaris!!

April 2, 2010 at 7:17 am 9 comments

This is probably one of the most difficult entries I have ever written. I have decided to leave my job at Oracle. Don’t have a forward destination yet but I intend to take some time thinking about it before I take the next step. I am leaving Oracle but I will still be involved with Solaris and OpenSolaris in some form or the other. Having spent 14 years writing million+ lines of code and architecting some of the most complex subsystems, I don’t intend to just walk away.

The last 2-3 days have been a very emotional journey for me. I thought I was a very strong willed person but it was amazing how many times I came close to tears when so many people stopped by. All I can say is that I am so grateful that the community feels that I had done something useful (both personally and professionally) for Solaris. The journey has been nothing but wonderful and I will surely miss everyone. But I have learned one thing in last several years – to not say goodbye ever because our paths will cross again!!

Best of luck to everyone in the Solaris community who help it to be the best operating system on the planet and especially to the people who help write it. Keep the flag flying!! With Oracle, Solaris will reach more places …

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Network in a box Solaris as an Open Source alternative to Linux

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danilo Poccia  |  April 2, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Good Luck Sunay!

    Reply
  • 2. Bob Palowoda  |  April 2, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I’m sorry to hear this. I’ve followed your teams work for years and consider crossbow a critical enterprise feature of Opensolaris/Solaris of the level Dtrace and ZFS has brought us. I know you indicated you are not leaving the community just disappointed things didn’t work out with the transition. I’m still a little disappointed what Oracle’s plans are for crossbow but time will tell.

    I would wish you luck but with your background and talent you should land another difficult career in no time.

    —Bob

    Reply
  • 3. benr  |  April 3, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Thank you for everything you’ve contributed to Solaris over the years. You’ve done truly groundbreaking work and its sad to see you leave. And yet, I’m excited to see where you will go next and what you will do.

    Your an amazing engineer and an amazing individual. I wish you all the best of luck in the future!

    benr.

    Reply
  • […] change is afoot: over the last six months, the monopoly over Solaris engineering talent has been broken. And now today, we as a community have turned an important corner with the announcement of […]

    Reply
  • 5. Ashwin  |  August 4, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Sad to know this. Have a great career ahead. And if you are wondering who i am, You and Venu had mentored me during my internship at Sun Bangalore. Thank you for all the good you have done for Solaris and networking. Good Luck Sir.

    Reply
  • 6. Dorvan  |  August 12, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Good Luck Mr!

    A question and a “pray”…

    ..The question is:

    Do you know something about the future of OpenSolaris?
    …..Can be wrong planning to use it in a long term project as a free and open product??

    And now the pray:

    Please… Help FreeBSD and or linux project to have what we can loose if OpenSolaris became Solaris11! The state of the art of your work at Sun, Can make the difference for those OSes redefying some software solutions and making the open BSD/linux worlds more fluent and hw indipendent to exploring some new future solutions and software architectures.

    The deep level of abstractions and phylosophy behind your work can transform the world of open computing.

    Thanks for attention.

    Dorvan

    Reply
  • 7. Gary  |  October 18, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Hi Sunay,

    You have been in hiding for a while. Given your rate of innovating,
    hopefully you have been doing something big. OpenSolaris
    can use your help given that you had major contributions in
    taking Solaris 9 to OpenSolaris (atleast that I know of) Fireengine,
    crossbow, zones …

    Tia,
    Gary

    Reply
  • 8. Kebabbert  |  October 27, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Best of luck. I am just trying to learn Crossbow. Seems really cool. :o)

    Reply
  • 9. Cutting Kahlua  |  March 17, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Aww…goodluck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Rated

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 177 other followers